Here’s to Triple F

Hi Friends,

As I get ready to embark on my solo venture to vacation and wwoof in New Zealand, I feel somewhat caught in the limbo of reflection on the past season and projection to my near future in a foreign country. I have struggled with the question of how to keep in touch with those I hold dear without completely embodying the narcissism that seems to overtake travel emails/blogs/musings. My conclusion is this blog: a freely accessible but not blatantly invasive (i.e., mass emails) communication tool. A la my first post and props to what I am leaving behind:

How do I communicate how much this place (Nevada County) has changed me as a person and how fortunate I feel for my time spent here? Impossible. Really, though, it is unfair to give credit to this physical place for my change of heart and mind. The people who have entered my life here are the ones who have made all the difference. I find one striking commonality among this diverse, talented, and giving group of individuals: They dare to live differently.

A few choice memories from my triple F experiences.

Four Frog Farm

I love the mornings at Four Frog. In the heat of the summer, the cool is refreshingly welcome and now, in late fall, the light quality as the sun is just barely rising over the pond softens the cold landscape. Heading out into the fields at the beginning of the day to harvest, one is filled with the promise of bounty to be gathered, perfectly ripe tomatoes to be tasted (for quality control of course), CSA boxes to be packed and labeled. It’s hard to pick a favorite farm activity, however, and I can’t help smiling at the thought of quarterbacking (literally) during the butternut squash harvest or the manic pace of manning the Four Frog stand at the downtown Nevada City farmer’s market.

Fowler Family Farm

Quoting my Dad as we were leaving his visit to Fowler Family Farm, “now, those animals are really something! They sure are more exciting than those boring vegetables!” Okay, maybe I embellish a bit…but, there is truly something intuitively captivating about watching pigs playfully race each other around and through fresh grass and clovers. And renegade goats coming to say their greeting as they nuzzle your hand and check out these foreign visitors for any sign of foodstuffs.

Perhaps the best part of my time spent at the Fowler’s were my pretty much daily experiences of humility. It is truly an art to be able to laugh at yourself, one that I’m getting better at. Even after a season of helping out, I was not immune to tripping over the ubiquitous electric netting that serves as fencing for the majority of the animals at the Fowler’s. I’m hoping that most of these snafus went unnoticed. Also, within my last month an important lesson was learned: It’s not such a good idea to roof a chicken tractor with steel when aluminum is available. Steel is heavy, duh. I finally wised up a little bit, though, and began taking advice from those more perceptive and experienced than I: Brad and Alana’s three oldest daughters. All were willing helpers and advice givers in my often awkward attempts to attain an efficiency of work in a setting they were most comfortable in.

crossFit Friends and Family

Wow, this crossfit community has really been my support system to lean on as well as a constant source of fun. I have this weird thing where I feel most comfortable and at ease when I am doing something active. What used to be the safety of basketball gyms, tracks, and cross country trails has given way to a crossfit peace of mind. The gym is my outlet. A place where my goofy side can surface. As fun as it is to joke and behave with abandon, it does not come easily to me unless I feel perfectly safe. For some reason, the same people who want to destroy Fran (that’s the name of a workout) have made this an easy thing to experience. Without fail, they have been so generous with their friendships and opening up their homes and families for my inclusion.

Hard to pick my favorite crossfit memory, it’s a toss up between:

My first muscle up and stitches from a dentist chair in the same day. Training for regionals this year with the best training buddy you could ask for (minus the “you just don’t got it” comment). And experiencing the pure competitive drive and community that resonated during our recent lifting total session of squat, press, and deadlift at the still inchoate site of Pro Bono Fit.

Thanks to all of you Triple F people who have given so much and continue to extend your friendship to me!

Excitedly, I look forward to much Triple F activity in the future and you can be sure that I will be writing passionately about what I hold in high esteem: Food, Farming, and Fitness.

-Leda

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Al
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 21:40:55

    Great start, Leda! I am so excited to continue to read your blog and live vicariously through you šŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

  2. Andi
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 23:02:03

    Leda,
    You always got it! Always….
    Love ya

    Like

    Reply

  3. Alana
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 06:37:29

    Thank you Leda! We hope your travels are much rewarding. We’ve enjoyed your help and friendship.

    Like

    Reply

  4. grandmajody
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 20:55:21

    Leda dear,
    Knowing that you will be keeping in touch with all of us via your wonderfully descriptive blogs is just the news I wanted to hear!
    grandmajody

    Like

    Reply

  5. Don
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 01:56:19

    New Zealand, Leda! I can’t imagine what a great adventure this will be for you. Best wishes.
    We build our chicken tractors heavy here. Seems like we’re battling 40+mph winds weekly anymore. I have to add concrete blocks on them, as well. It’s a great daily upper body workout. šŸ™‚
    I like the photo with Jody.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

