A short, fun one…

My favorite fruits and vegetables are the ones that double as other words. I mean don’t get me wrong, I love broccoli and brussel sprouts. I savor the hint of licorice in a nicely roasted slice of fennel. I have even been known to compliment a turnip or two. But, what I really get a kick out of are those crops that have managed to sneak themselves into consumption. I’m not talking about corn, which everybody knows is in everything. I’m also not talking about cranberry, which must have a great lobby (half the bottles in the juice aisle are cran-raspberry, cran-apple, or some sort of cranberry cocktail. Unbelievable).

What I am most enamored with are the oranges, squash (what a satisfying verb, don’t you think?), and greens. There is no getting around it. They have shades of meaning that allow their use in contexts seemingly unrelated to food. It’s just plum fascinating isn’t it? You could be consuming fruits and vegetables that you don’t even know about. And that’s the genius of these guys. There is no censoring them out as health foods. No way! You’ve got to use the color orange. It would be an outrage not too and every time you do, your eyes are just drinking in the citrusy goodness. You could try and argue with me about this, but there’s no way to beet the system. These words are just too versatile. A delicious bit of wordplay I’d say.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Don
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:52:45

    I’d say you sure beaned that one, Leda!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

