Everyone has a story

Everyone has a story. Most won’t tell you theirs during your first conversation. They will tell you stories, but not their story. The thing is, we’re all afraid that our story is not all that special and you might laugh or that it might sound ridiculous or you might not understand or, worse– that you might not listen. But, we are equally sure that it is uniquely ours and as true as ever. At some point in our lives, our story needs to be told. If you are very lucky, you will get to know someone well enough so that they will tell you their story.

This is not your life story. I do not mean to infer that we all need to write autobiographies or have our biographies sitting on some dusty library shelf one day. I am not interested in biographies. I am interested in people. I want to know what makes you human. I want to know the experiences that you have had that nobody else could have had or would have had in the same situation. I want to know even if it is difficult to hear. What are the moments, days, years that have inspired you, touched you, molded you? How have you loved? Where have you laughed? Who have you cried for? Why have you suffered?

I think the best telling is in person. If you were to sit down with somebody. Sit down and look them in the eye. Commit to that act of sharing what is real for you, no matter what. There is no right way to do it, but to me that seems like a good way. I have done so much talking in my life, but I am beginning to understand that this is not always the way. I am ready to listen.

What is your story?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kimberly
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 16:17:01

    Have you figured out that whole ‘snap-your-fingers-and-appear-in-my-apartment’ thing yet? Cause that would be great. Love this blog post my friend.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Leda
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 18:00:03

    Working on it. Thanks Kimmy!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

